Isabel Paterson who?

I consider myself very well read politically and philosophy, in economics and political science, in current events and history. One of my favorite authors is Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged, but not the Fountainhead, oddly enough), yet I’d never even heard the name “Isabel Paterson” mentioned. I would normally not even mention it, but this woman is the mother of every individualist thought in the modern world. She inspired Rand and Buckley and thousands of others, who in turn inspired Thatcher and Reagan and millions more, who in turn inspired tens of millions of free-thinking individuals. And I’d never heard of her. It reminds me that the ruthlessness and efficiency of left-wing cultural censorship of our literary history is a staggeringly frightening thing.

Has anyone in Sweden heard of her before? I’ll ask around tomorrow, but I doubt it. More on this when I have time.

~ by Escaping Perdition on March 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

