Skål to our American Friends

I remember exactly what I was doing when I first heard news of the terrorist attack on 9/11. I bet a lot of other people do, as well. I was sitting in a café with friends when someone said that a plane had crashed into one of the World Trade Center buildings. I didn’t believe them at first, it sounded like a bad joke. The girl working at the café turned on the TV, however, and the image of the smoking crater in the side of the building was evident for everyone to see. I felt sick. At first I thought it was just some horrific accident, but then a second plane crashed in. I went home, and for a day or three I thought the world as we know it would end. And yeah, a lot of things have changed, and not many of them for the better. But the world certainly still goes on.

Anyway. Tonight I will raise my glass and offer a toast to all the victims of the attacks, and to all their relatives and friends. Here’s to hoping nothing like this will happen again. Skål.

~ by Escaping Perdition on September 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

